SOLVED

Guidance on Network Configurations for Azure Stack HCI Cluster

Copper Contributor

Hello All,

I am going to deploy my very first Azure Stack HCI cluster.

I need guidance on how to assign the IP addresses to the NICs, what should be IP address scheme, and best practices.

Details of network adapters are as follows:

2 NICs of 25 Gbps for compute/Virtualization (VMs) traffic

2 NICs of 25 Gbps for Storage

2 NICs of 1 Gbps for Mgmt

Questions:

(1) How to assign the IP addresses? since it's my first time with the black screen.

(2) How to configure SET for the NICs to be used for virtualization/compute step-by-step?

(3) I know that I don't need to configure SET (Switch Embedded Teaming) for the Storage NICs, but what should I do for the Mgmt NICs? Should I configure SET for them OR should 1 NIC be enough for the Mgmt?

(4) How to configure SET step-by-step?

(5) What is the recommendation for the IP address scheming for all the NICs? Let's say I'm assigning 10.4.8.x to the Mgmt NICs, should I use the same IP address scheme for Storage and Compute NICs as well, or should I assign some different IP schemes like 172.x.x.x

(6) There are 2 NICs for Storage and we are not configuring SET for them... So, just to confirm, will I need to assign 2 IP addresses for Storage on each server?

(7) How to enable the iWARP RDMA for the Storage NICs? I'm thinking to use iWARP RDMA as I read MSFT engineers recommend/prefer iWARP over RoCE. Please confirm my understanding.

(8) For the Mgmt NIC, first I will configure the SET then I will assign the IP address to the SET NIC, just like we used to with the conventional NIC Teaming in Windows Server 2012 R2.

Apologies in advance for such basic questions... It's my first time with Azure Stack HCI...

Thank you very much!

9 Replies

Hi @Chandrasekhar_Arya 

I already checked the https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/azure-stack/hci/deploy/deployment-tool-install-os